NFHS Interpretations

SITUATION 1: With R1 on first base, B2 singles to right field. As R1 touches second base, B2 touches first and moves one-third of the way to sec­ond. F9 picks up the ball and throws it back to first as F3 obstructs B2 return­ing to first The ball gets away from F3, and R1 attempts to get to third while B2 stays at first F2, backing up the play, gets the ball and throws out R1 at third. RULING: At the end of playing action, B2 will be awarded second base because of F3's obstruction. R1's out will stand. Non-obstructed runners may advance at their own risk. (2-22-1, 8-3-2)

SITUATION 2: As U1 inspects the home team's bats and helmets prior to the start of the game, he notices that several of the batting helmets' NOC­SAE stamps are not legible and cannot be read. RULING: The helmets are not legal. Each batting helmet must display a legible NOCSAE stamp and the exte­rior warning statement. If the helmet had been reconditioned to meet the NOCSAE standard, an approved legible NOCSAE sticker should be applied to the helmet if the embossed stamp is not legible. (1-4-5)

SITUATION 3: During the pre-game inspection of the visiting team's bats, U2 notices that a composite bat is present and has no "BESR certified" statement embossed, stickered, labeled or decaled on the bat. The coach states that the BESR certification mark is not required on a composite bat RULING: A composite bat is a non-wood bat and must meet all non-wood bat specifica­tions and requirements. Since the bat does not have a BESR certification, it is not legal and may not be used. (1-3-2, 1-3-5)

SITUATION 4: After delivering a pitch, the offensive team's coach notices the pitcher has a band-aid on the index finger of his throwing hand. He complains to U1 that a balk should be called. RULING: F1 may not wear a bandage, tape or other foreign material on the fingers or palm of his pitch­ing hand that comes in contact with the ball. U1 will instruct F1 to remove the bandage. There is no additional penalty. (6-2-1g Penalty)

SITUATION 5: The pitcher is using a fielding glove that is light brown outside and dark brown inside on the pocket of the glove. RULING: This is legal. Only if in U1 's judgment that this is distracting to the batter would F1 not be allowed to play with the glove. (1-3-7, 6-2-1h)

SITUATION 6: The pitcher is using a black fielding glove that has white lettering on it RULING: If the umpire judges the white lettering on the glove to be distracting, he would instruct the pitcher to replace the glove. (1-3-7, 6-2-1h)

SITUATION 7: The pitcher is using a dark glove that has a white imprint of a baseball on the outside of the glove. RULING: This glove is illegal for use by a pitcher. (1-3-7, 6-2-1h)

SITUATION 8: With R1 at first, B2 singles to right field. R1 misses sec­ond base as he advances safely to third. The throw from the outfield goes to F4, who catches the ball and stumbles on second base, not aware that R1 did not touch the bag. RULING: Until the defense makes a proper intentional appeal, R1 would not be out Accidental appeals by the defense are not valid. (8-4-2j)

SITUATION 9: The starting pitcher has been wearing a batting glove under his fielding glove. In the fifth inning, the offensive coach complains that this is not legal and the pitcher must remove the batting glove. RULING: If U1 feels that the batting glove is distracting, he would instruct F1 to remove it If U1 feels it is not distracting, F1 would continue to be able to wear it The umpire has sole authority to judge whether or not an item is distracting. (6-2-1f Penalty)

SITUATION 10: With one out and R1 on first and a count of 2-1, B2 hits a bouncing ball along the first base foul line. U1 mistakenly declares "Foul!" as F1 picks up the ball in fair tenitory. RULING: The ball is dead immediately. R1 returns to first B2 continues at bat with a count of 2-2. (5-1-1h)

SITUATION 11: Is a player who is not in the game allowed to warm up an outfielder between innings without wearing a batting helmet? RULING: While the ball is dead, the player is allowed to warm up an outfielder without wearing a batting helmet. By definition, the player is not considered to be a non-adult ball/bat shagger. However, a state association may mandate that any non-adult must wear a helmet while warming up a teammate. (1-4-5, 1-4-6 Penalty)

SITUATION 12: With R1 on third, B2 hits a fly ball to the outfield. As the runner on third tags, the defensive coach (in the third-base dugout) yells, "Go, go, go," to the runner tagging. R1, as a consequence, leaves the base before the catch and must return to tag the base. RULING: This is verbal obstruction. At the end of playing action, U1 will award R1 home due to the obstruction. U1 will also warn the coach that his actions are not in accordance with fair play. (2-22-1, 3-3-1g-4, 8-3-2)

SITUATION 13: R1, who is on second base with no outs, is running on the pitch. As B2 flies out to left field, R1 continues running, touches third base and advances home. The throw goes to the third baseman, who steps on third to append the infraction. RULING: This is not a valid appeal concerning R1 leaving second base too soon. (8-2-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 14: With R1 on first and one out, B2 hits a fly ball down the third-base line. U1 errs and announces "Foul ball," but F5 catches the ball several feet in fair territory. RULING: B2 is out. R1 may tag and advance at his own risk. (Rule 5-1-1h does not apply on a caught fly ball.)

SITUATION 15: With the bases empty, B1 hits a home run over the fence. While running the bases, he misses second base. RULING: Unless the defense properly appeals the missed base, the run will count If the defense makes a proper appeal, B1 is declared out and the run will not count. (8-2-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 16: With R1 on third and R2 on second and one out, B4 hits a fly ball to right field. While R1 legally tags, R2 leaves second base early. After both runners advance, the defense properly appeals. RULING: R2 is declared out for the third out of the half-inning. R1's run will count (8-2-5 Penalty, Appeal Guideline #8)

SITUATION 17: With one out and R2 at third, B3 hits a sharp line drive into the gap. As R2 breaks for home, the third-base coach grabs R2's arm and tells him to tag up. The ball is (a) caught or (b) not caught RULING: This is interference by the third-base coach and the ball is a delayed dead ball, remaining live until playing action is over. In (a) both R2 and B3 are out In (b) R2 is out and B3 is awarded first or returns to the base occupied at the time of the infraction. (3-2-2, 5-1-2f)

SITUATION 18: With two outs, R3 on third and a full count on B4, F1 delivers from the wind-up position. R3 steals on the pitch and safely touches home before F2 catches the pitch for the third strike. RULING: The run does not count. In order to score, R3 would need to touch home before the time of the pitch. (2-28-3, 9-1-1 Exception a)

SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2's throw. (8-4-1g Exception)

SITUATION 20: As B1 bunts, F2 fields the ball in front of home plate in fair ground. B1 is running in fair ground as he nears first base. F2 realizes he does not have a line of sight to F3 and tries to lob the ball over B1. F3 leaps but cannot catch the ball. RULING: B1 is out for interference. Although F2 made an errant throw, B 1 is guilty of interference by being out of the 3-foot running lane. (8-4-1g)

SITUATION 21: With the home team leading, 7-5, the game enters the top of the sixth inning. As the visiting team scores on a grand slam home run to take the lead, 9-7, the game is delayed and later called due to inclement weather. RULING: Unless the state association has adopted specific game-ending procedures, the score will revert to the score at the end of the fifth inning since the teams have not had an equal number of complete turns at bat Home team wins the game. (4-2-3)